Introduction

I’m a human rights lawyer, teacher, wonderer.

I decided to start this blog because of curiosity and my professional background. I want to have a space where I can bring up and discuss topics that I think deserve and need attention. Hopefully to connect and discuss with other human rights nerds. To develop my ideas. To make a contribution towards a change. But also just to challenge myself and to dare to publish my writings.

I named this blog as rightsobservations because I want to avoid discussing or doing research only in one certain topic. As human rights are “universal, indivisible, interdependent and interrelated” [1], my intention here is to study also other human rights issues than those I have more experience with.

I hope to reach with this blog anyone interested in international human rights law. I’m eager to hear views and to discuss not only with fellow lawyers but also with other professionals, activists or anyone wondering about human rights in their everyday-life or work. I think best and fresh ideas are most often developed in a dialogue with people from different professional backgrounds. I believe in interaction and cooperation rather than sticking to one’s own discipline.

The main language of this blog will be English. But sometimes when I discuss human rights related to a certain country, I may write in another language, i.e. Finnish, Swedish or German.

Next post will be a summary of my master’s thesis that I wrote about evidence assessment in asylum procedures in Sweden in the light of Articles 2 and 3 of the European Convention on Human Rights. Due to the topic that is related to Sweden and the language of my thesis, the first post will be in Swedish. But because I have further research interests in this topic, I will later publish the summary in English as well.

Stay tuned! I’m looking forward to hear from you and to have you with me to shake the world!

Namaste.

 

References:
[1] Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action, Vienna 25th June 1993.

 

Leave a comment